2 Comments
Aug 2, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I tend to choose the basic 2D option.

It's funny because I am a very technical thinker in my job and, since I work on post production, formats and specifications are second language to me. I care about delivering the highest quality possible that works smoothly and error free to the target platform. I deeply love color and want the output to match the exposure and look intended.

But most of that technical geekery really strikes me as woo. There are real issues like the dearth of trained projectionists resulting in dimmed bulbs and the oncoming cliff of digital projection planned obsolescence (basically, just as the theatres finish paying off the digital projectors they took out debt to update to, they're going to need to be replaced), but pouring through auditorium specs to ensure you get the exact experience Nolan watched in his QC suite is silly.

The point of ensuring a print is right is that it works as well in the small community microcinema as it does the megaplex in the (increasingly empty) mall. Not to force the microcinema audience to track down a specific megaplex.

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I think, occasionally, it's worth it, but usually not. And the occasions when it is worth it, for me, are films like Oppenheimer. Films that are epic in scope and visual, but also films of artistic vision and achievement, not just spectacle designed to titillate and make bank. I do not want to spend the money and sit in a less comfortable theater (based on what is available to me, at least) to experience sensory overload for maximalist, unbalanced spectacle.

I saw Oppenheimer in IMAX. I am glad I did; I think the long runtime may have started to drain me if I was not in such an immersive viewing experience, but I also think the film intends a type of overwhelm that the IMAX experience really enhanced. I do not live near enough one of the theaters that projected from a print (I briefly considered a road trip though. . .), but even with my viewing taking an unscheduled 45 minute intermission due to a fire alarm, it was a premium experience and worth the upgrade. (ftr, to my memory this is the only feature film I have seen in IMAX; at the very least, the only one I have actively chosen IMAX for.)

I see the vast majority of films in the standard 2D projection and I agree with DB; if it doesn't look and sound good in a standard viewing then it's just not been done well. Occasionally, due to convenience of showtime mostly, I've gotten the upgraded viewing experience that isn't IMAX but is. . . I mean, here each multiplex chain calls it something different, but yknow, it's the premium fuel experience. It's not usually worth it to me. This probably has to do with my taste as much as anything; big blockbusters, the films this experience is used for, are not films I tend to go for as a rule. That said, I did see No Time To Die in the AMC Dolby theater, it's the only thing I have seen in that particular upgrade, and it. was. Amazing. But! I was really looking forward to this film, and I made a point of seeing it in that upgrade because I had read how much it enhanced the film.

So on the whole, it's a pass for me, but every so often, when it's a film I want to make a true Event out of seeing, and I trust the director and filmmaking team to have put together something worth the splurge, I lean in intentionally. It can be great, but throwing whatever they can into the premium theater just to put something up isn't worth it.

Expand full comment