3 Comments
Jun 21, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I don’t know that it’s exactly what you’re seeking, but EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL AT ONCE does fit the bill somewhat, plus it’s a great reason to watch it again. A film that fits the actual question better, though, although it may not be one to your tastes, is THOR: RAGNAROK. It’s the highlight of the MCU for me, one of the few I still enjoy, and Taika Waititi’s rescue of the character of Thor and turning him into a vulnerable goof is excellent. And that Immigrant Song sequence is a stunner. (Taika’s debut, BOY, also fits the brief, and is wonderful IMO, but dang it’s a bit heavy. might not be ideal for a pick-me-up).

I’m sorry to hear that you’re struggling with the process. I know it’s hard, and slow, and frustrating. I hope, though, that you can see the goals in sight : of feeling better, and moving without pain. Even if they seem in the distance, I hope they are in sight, and that you get a bit closer every day.

Expand full comment
Jun 20, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

One of the sweetest, most optimistic movies I know is Paulie. Starring Tony Shalhoub and a conure, it presents lives that have not always gone down the easiest paths but the players have maintained a childlike innocence that is touchingly appealing. There is no woe-is-me mentality here which is in itself refreshing.

Best wishes on your recovery.

Expand full comment
author

Oh god yes, Paulie is a wonderful movie.

Expand full comment