3 Comments
Sep 17, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I am basing my recommendation not on something I have seen, but something I recently had recommended to me that I want to see, and that is 1983’s SILKWOOD. The Letterboxd podcast featured this in their list of workers’ rights films not too long ago, and just hearing the plot summary makes me fascinated to learn more about the bravery of nuclear and labour activist Karen Silkwood.

I am frustrated both at myself, and at the film landscape at large, that I can’t easily come up with an answer to this question with a film I have actually seen. I was going to say THE WOMAN KING but then I learned Viola Davis’ character is fictional. I like that THE IMITATION GAME included Keira Knightley as Joan Clarke, highlighting her importance to Bletchley Park, but the film certainly was not about her (and it’s been a while since I have seen it, but it may have even downplayed her contribution? unsure).

On the whole, we need more of these films! And we need to appreciate the contributions of the countless unsung women a helluva lot more.

Expand full comment
author

THE WOMAN KING is a good one, though, because even if the story is fictionalized, those warriors were real, and their story hasn't been told, at least not in a way that Western audiences will have been familiar with.

Expand full comment
Sep 18, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

a great point! When I saw it in the theater, I was thrilled to see a period film that not only was centering a non-white, non-Western culture, but was also centering the women of that culture. It matters beyond the specifics of the individual character Viola Davis plays, you're absolutely right.

Expand full comment