3 Comments
Sep 10, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I second the rec of Pride (2014), for its embrace of solidarity. I also greatly appreciate that it’s a queer-centered movie set in the 1980s that is triumphant, a celebration of our queer elders, and not solely tragic about all they suffered. The scene where the Welsh women sing “Bread and Roses” is so touching, also.

Expand full comment
Sep 4, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I'm a big fan of Pride (2014). I think it captures the concept of solidarity very, very well, and it's a delightful movie to boot. It may not be as straightforward (no pun intended) of a "union" film but I certainly think it counts

Expand full comment
Sep 4, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I like Harlan County, USA. I also like Sorry to Bother You, but I think that movie showcases the fantasy of what labor rights means whereas Harlan County USA represents the reality.

Expand full comment