2 Comments
Apr 15, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

oh what a fantastic episode! I think X-Files takes the cake on doing this, tbh. Although Doctor Who has some great eps that are either standalone or only tie into the larger mythology in their final moments : my first thought on that front is Midnight, which I adore.

Community was also very good at doing this, although arguably this is much more common in a sitcom than a drama. Nevertheless, I think Abed’s Uncontrollable Christmas, for instance, is one of the show’s strongest episodes, period, and it presents itself as a claymation holiday special.

Also, the best episode of Scrubs fits the bill here : My Way Home. It’s an homage to The Wizard of Oz chock full of references, but it also exemplifies the show at its best, personifying the heartbreak and compassion of this world and these characters.

great question!

Expand full comment
Apr 11, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

Aaahhhh, I immediately went to The X-Files. There are so many great standalones to choose from. Ice, Squeeze, irresistible, Small

Potatoes, Bad Blood, Arcadia, X-Cops, so many more, I just wouldn’t know which to choose!

From other shows: does Buffy’s Once More with Feeling count? Or better yet, Hush.

Angel: Smile Time

Everything else feels like it’s entirely episodic or entirely serialized.

Expand full comment