3 Comments
Aug 23, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

Fry’s dog in Futurama had me sobbing!!

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

The death of Bambi's Mom. Saw it when i was 5 years old. Death of the Wicked Witch. Saw that when I wasnt much older.

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

There is a lot of haunting death in IT'S A SIN, and I wouldn't want any of the deaths to not be seen as completely tragic loss, given the subject matter. That said . . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

The character played marvelously by Olly Alexander, Ritchie. god how I wept and shook with anger. The indignity of his mother refusing to let his friends see him at his deathbed, the pain that as a result he died completely alone. Haunted is the exact right word for it. I am gutted now thinking about it. I am so, so thankful that Russell T. Davies gave Jill that speech to Ritchie's mom after, as well, that he refused to let her and the people like her off the hook. It's a tremendous scene in a tremendous show that breaks your heart and enrages you, which is the only appropriate response to the AIDS crisis at all.

Expand full comment