3 Comments
Nov 25, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

Hmmmm, couple of things come to mind. Lest the below revelations render me a complete heathen in your readers’ eyes, know that I love film and literature, from all eras and all languages. Silent film to modern film, ancient literature to modern literature.

Shame: I never watched The Wire, either, and I can’t get through James Joyce to save my life. Or Moby Dick. I desperately need to educate myself better on eastern literature and film. I’m doing better with film, but I still have a lot to learn.

Unpopular opinions that I’m NOT ashamed of:

- As a Colombian (where we don’t worship the police or the military the way Americans do), I find movies like The Best Years of our Lives nauseating.

- The lost generation is overrated. They’re good, but I’m not over the moon about them.

- As a non-white person, I don’t get books / films by (mostly white) people about “finding oneself” during nature trips or baseball. Jesus, those things are boring AF. It’s not even as though they have real problems in these stories; they just need to find themselves. Y’all can’t do that at home, or at a beautiful villa in the south of France? When people suffered from ennui in the Belle Epoque, at least there were interesting French settings to think about.

Expand full comment
Nov 22, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

yknow, this is a bit hard for me to answer, mostly bc I try to hard to push back against 'shame;' I just find it a pointless emotion. That may be both deeper and more pedantic of an initial answer than you're looking for here though! So let's see. . .

oh ok this I am actually a bit embarrassed about, but after 6-7 years of not being on instagram, I recently logged back in so that I could follow Georgia Tennant. I tend to not really want to interact with actors/celebrities on social media, or even be on social media at all, but those Tennants sure are delightful (well, they seem like it at least!). Now I'm also following a lot of the actors from Our Flag Means Death, so there's no hope for me anymore ;)

Expand full comment