9 Comments
Aug 17, 2022Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I saw 'You've Got Mail' 13 times in theaters, then while in New York City, took three tweenagers--one being my daughter--on a walking tour of all the locations used in the movie that we could find. It was my fave flick of 1998.

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2022Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I accidentally saw The Doors twice with different people but otherwise I've never seen a film more than once at the cinema. I did grow up in the time between local cinemas closing and multiplexes opening though, so that may have something to do with it.

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2022Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

The Wild Bunch. Saw it at least nine times. Love Westerns anyway and it was so different at the time.

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2022Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

Can't think of any films I've seen more than twice in their first run. I just popped in to recommend _Sh*t, Actually_ by Lindy West, based on your assessment of _The Fugitive_. If you haven't read this already, you will thank me. Save it for when you need a good laugh.

Expand full comment

I'm a bad cinephile having either never seen a movie more than once in the theater or not remembering. However, my bestie saw Once Upon A Time In Hollywood twice in a week, and I accompanied him for his second viewing and TOTALLY understood his sequential viewing.

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2022Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

No question, Star Wars, 8 times in its initial run. Heaven knows how many after that. Thanks, Jim Mann, I forgot - re-release, I think only once, 1st day. (Same thrill.)

Expand full comment

I dragged my parents back to see Jurassic Park more times than I could count when I was 7. That movie drove me wild, I loved it. One time my father and I arrived an hour late so he bought tickets for two showings and we watched the second half and then rewatched the whole thing.

I got caught up in the competitive Titanic watching when that was a thing and saw it about half a dozen times. My favorite part of that experience was going with people who hadn't seen it before and watching their expressions.

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2022Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

Star Wars, which I saw at maybe half a dozen times during its initial run (and more times when re-released).

Expand full comment