4 Comments
May 14, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

As for TV, I think SIX FEET UNDER is the first show that made me realize the credits themselves could be expressive art (this is also my favorite show, ever, so I’m a bit biased). I also really love the credits for BOB’S BURGERS; it tells you exactly what the show is in tone, and the changing puns for Every. Single. Episode. are delightful.

For films, I feel overwhelmed by choice into feeling like I have never seen a movie in my life. I think the Bond credits are so iconic they should be mentioned, even though I don’t love them all the time. And Saul Bass’ work was brilliant. I gotta MONTY PYTHON AND THE HOLY GRAIL simply for how late in the film the title sequence actually shows up; every time I see it it catches me off-guard and makes me laugh.

Expand full comment
May 9, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I never skipped the opening credits of Peacemaker.

And the Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur opening is a lot of fun as well.

Expand full comment

⚡️🔱👿⚡️🌊🗺️⚡️🫡🔥🔥🔥

Expand full comment