2 Comments
Nov 25, 2021Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I agree that you can get something out of even the worst movies. For me, the bottom of the stack is Highlander 2, but at least it provided me with a yardstick for badness. Staying on sequels, I do kind of wish I hadn't spent time or money on RoboCop 2, which still leaves a bad taste in my mouth when I remember it. Repulsively violent, and somehow without any of the wit, satire, or just general humanity that makes the violence of the original somewhat palatable. At least Highlander 2 is just a monumentally silly train wreck.

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2021Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

Like you, if I am at a film - or a play - if I find it unsatisfying in any way I start to study it in a detached way, working out what is wrong. I look for the aspects that do work, and speculate about how the people making the film had the heart to keep going when it was such obvious tosh. After all, it takes about the same amount of effort to make a crap production as a good one!

That said, the only film I ever saw that I thought was unredeemably bad was the Porky's (1981). But some people must have liked it, as they made two sequels!

Expand full comment