7 Comments
Jan 18, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I don’t think I saw a 2022 film that drew my ire to nearly the same extent that Licorice Pizza did last year (although I did see it at the beginning of 2022, so maybe it counts?). But Downton Abbey: A New Era was just shoddy storytelling, albeit in the sake of fan service; however, not being up on the canon and just a casual fan, I was lost and almost entirely bored. And I found Bullet Train a disappointing slog with a view bright spots, floating in a sea of gratuitous blood.

I probably saw some older films that were atrocious as well - I think I saw The Fountainhead in 2022, and good god is that both a bad film and a film I don’t like.

I have been casually interested in Slaughterhouse Rulez, simply due to the Michael Sheen factor, but I am glad to hear from you and Jens it is one to skip before I waste my time!

Expand full comment

This might be too pitiful a comment so ignore it. Discovered you via the Omnibus list, hello!

I think I saw 1 new movie in 2022. Top Gun: Maverick.

I watch tons of movies. From 1930s and those days! TCM is basically all I watch.

The exception is sci-fi and anything Christopher Nolan makes.

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2023Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I'll cheat a little - the worst film I saw in 2022 is from 2018 according to IMDB, but I'm pretty sure it only turned up on streaming in 2022. It's Slaughterhouse Rulez. An absolutely abysmal misfire, with Simon Pegg and Mark Frost cannibalizing their previous performances for tics, a "plot" that is choc-a-bloc with hoary cliches that do not seem to be played for laughs, and countless winking references to movies much, much better than itself. The satire is tediously rote, the horror element is perfunctory, the humour is dreadfully predictable. A probable #2 and actually from 2022 is The Gray Man with the gray man himself, Ryan Gosling. It's a James Bond wannabe written by a group of accountants, full of colour and gunplay and yet unbelievably boring and by the numbers. It fulfills the basic criteria for a truly bad movie - it has the actors and the budget to be good - but no story to tell, no reason for its own existence. (And now, to cleanse my mind, I have to mention two of my favourites - Top Gun: Maverick, and Barbarian. Oh, I feel better already.)

Expand full comment