3 Comments
Aug 15, 2021Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

two films come to mind - memorable to me because they are genres I never really watch, but turned out to be really interesting. 1. Love & Monsters (2020) is an action monster movie/love story, but with fun special effects and an actually story to tell. 2. The Girl with all the Gifts (2016) I found when doggedly searching for a redeemable, watchable zombie movie. I am now realizing I probably 1st heard of these films from flickfilosopher!

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2021Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

I agree with you on Mary Magdalene! It is the only Bible film I would ever recommend. And I have always loved Mary's character - the one you get glimpses of now and again if you read your Bible. She's not the goody-two-shoes Mary the Madonna - she's a real, breathing woman that you feel you would have liked to have met!

And as to the film that should have had a wider audience - two please, both Feminist, 'cos all feminist films need a wider audience. The Dressmaker (which you have reviewed) and Ladies in Black. Both Australian too!

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2021Liked by MaryAnn Johanson

My choice would be "Let the sunshine in" a 2017 film with Juliette Binoche

Expand full comment